top of page


United in one Team Ministry since 1992, we are a group of eight diverse, rural parishes working collaboratively across 13 villages which lie in beautiful countryside north-east of the attractive market town of Bury St Edmunds.

  • Bardwell

  • Barnham

  • Euston 

  • Fakenham Magna

  • Honington with Sapiston 

  • Ingham with Ampton and Great and Littte Livermere

  • Ixworth with Ixworth Thorpe 

  • Troston

The villages form a reasonably compact cluster; the furthest points of the benefice are about 20 minutes apart by car.  They are mostly rural, the exception being Ixworth, already a dormitory suburb of Bury St Edmunds and scheduled for enlargement, with new estates planned.  


The Team takes its name from the Blackbourne River, which rises near Ixworth and crosses into Norfolk from the parish of Euston, there to be swallowed into the Little Ouse.


Each parish has its own tradition of worship and services and its own particular needs but we are a supportive and prayerful community with many activities being run by the lay people from the congregations – these range from informal All-Age services to modern Communion and Book of Common Prayer Communion, Messy Church for families, Open the Book storytelling in our Church Primary Schools, to coffee mornings, soup lunches and pancake parties and include study groups and prayer groups.  

We are in the Ixworth Deanery of the Diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich.

bottom of page